The Jordanian Council of Ministers approved the Accession to the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) on March 3rd 2017.

This accession increases the number of Arab Countries which using the PCT System to (14) countries, they are with alphabetical order as following:

(Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Jordan, Kuwait, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, UAE).

The Jordanian Patent Office announced that it will begin receiving and processing local and international applications in electronic form via ePCT filing in its capacity as the receiving office.